• Support

The Serai

  •  
  •  
  •  
1 Person in 1 Room
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age(s) of Children
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age of Children
Click to Check
Availability
Rating4.5, based on 440 Review(s)

Chikmagalur

Fri, 29 Sep – Sat, 30 Sep (1 Night)  |  1 Room  |  1 Guest

Reviews

  • View Yatra Reviews
  • View Hotel Reviews
  • View Room Reviews

Overall Rating

4.8 / 5

(based on 2 review(s))

Verified

Rating Summary

  • Comfort2
  • Cleanliness1
  • Facilities Available2
  • Staff Service1
  • Room1
  • Value for money2
  • Location1
  • 5.0
  • 5.0
  • 5.0
  • 5.0
  • 5.0
  • 4.0
  • 5.0

  • Overall Rating

    4.5 The Serai

    (based on 440 reviews)

  • Traveller Rating

    • Terrible 9
    • Poor 14
    • Average 34
    • Very Good 120
    • Excellent 263
  • Rating Summary

    • Location 4.5
    • Sleep Quality 4.5
    • Rooms 4.5
    • Service 4.5
    • Value 4.0
    • Cleanliness 4.5

  • Super Luxury experience

    by Kanchan58 on September 8, 2017

    This resort is about 15 Kms away from the main Chikmagalur town. It's a 70 acre coffee plantation land area out of which central 7 acres is dedicated for the extremely luxurious resort. The pool side villas have private swimming pools annexed with each of them. Sprawling green campus has been extremely well maintained. They also have a central big swimming pool with lush green landscaping. Apart from the coffee plantations they have teak, mahogany, rose wood & black pepper trees. The morning walk in the plantation area is indeed rejuvenating experience. Food is extremely good with very wide varieties of both vegetarian & non-vegetarian cuisines. The variety of desserts is another yummy experience in all the three major buffet spreads of breakfast, lunch & dinner. Although it is an expensive resort but given the luxury experience every penny spent is worth the money.

  • Attended a 3 day conference

    by roundtabler on September 8, 2017

    Beautiful property with each villa having its own pool or jacuzzi. However over a decade old and the amenities are now looking a bit run down. Food is mediocre at best and the service does not lack enthusiasm but surely blacks training and finesse. Over all unless you get this property at deep discounts, may not be entirely worth it. The beds are strange. The mattress covers only the middle leaving a large "lip" uncovered. This is dangerous and I hurt myself a couple of time. The coffee walks and filter coffee it self were great. Definitely a summer time activity. During the monsoon, it was too cold to use the star attraction, your own private pool.

  • Holiday trip to Serai

    by sandeep306 on September 7, 2017

    The place is different with huge villas and thick coffee & pepper plantations forest for a morning walk. It is simply amazing and needs to be experienced. A decent swimming pool but a very small Gym, however the ample space very close to nature amidst the luxurious resort is an experience in itself. The only issue is it is far from the nearest airport and the road travel whether from Mangalore or Bangalore makes you very tired.

  • Get the city out, and indulge yourself in beauty, luxury, and awesome food

    by Akrur_Barua on August 25, 2017

    Well, what do I say about the Serai, Chikmagalur? You need to visit the place to experience it yourself. Picture this: You are tired of city life and the concrete jungles devoid of any soul, you need to recharge your batteries, and of course, you want to reflect on your life at the same time that you gorge on great food. Go ahead and pick the Serai. We were at the Serai, Chikmagalur, from August 15 to 19. There are two routes to reach the place from Mumbaione from Bangalore and the other one from Mangalore. We chose the latter as the travel time from the airport to the resort is less. Also, the journey is more scenic. But, mind you, the roads are a bit winding and hence, someone with travel sickness may not prefer this route. The resort is spread over seven acres, but, occupies a small portion of the wider 70 acres coffee plantation. It is beautifully designed with a large lobby overlooking the pool downhill. The rooms follow after that. We reached a little after 3 PM and the folks there were kind enough to keep lunch for us. And then we made our way to the rooms. We had booked a pool villa and boy, were we overjoyed. Each villa (there is a Jacuzzi villa as well) is well-surrounded by a wall to keep the villa discreet. The small pool by the villa is beautiful. The room itself was large and beautiful (wifi enabled) with a great bathroom attached. And its got an amazing bathtub. Whether you want to enjoy a slumber after lunch or sit by the pool and read a book, you will definitely not be disappointed. There are lots of stuff to do at the resort, if you are not lazy like me. There is a guided plantation walk, a great recreation center, and a library (I would advise them to put some more books there). There are some beautiful historical and natural sites to see close by. The resort can organize such a tourwe had our own car for five days and hence, did not use the resort ones. In addition, they organize some outdoor activities as well with a dedicated person (Pavan) taking care of it. Now, let me tell you about food. If you thought that you will take it slow, forget it. The chefs wont let you. Despite a buffet being spread out, I think we had the most amazing dishes served to us. When we reached the resort, we told the chefs that we would go mostly for the South Indian cuisine (non-vegetarian), especially the local one. What followed was wave after wave of the best meals I have had. Thanks a ton to chefs Malesh Gowda, Suryavamshi, Ram Krishna, and Som Thapa. You took so good care of us and beyond the food, the jovial conversations with you were even better. And if one is seeking good filter coffee, give in to Wilfred who will indulge you in all the varieties, including his innovative coffee shots. Thanks, Wiflredyou are a superstar! Btw, they have a lounge as well, in case you want to have a drink there. Mohan and Mrinmoyee will see to it that you have what you want. Beyond everything, its the people there who made our stay extra-special. I am bad with names, but let me rattle off some: Vishal, Rekha, Madhu, Rothesh, Manu, and Dibyajyoti. They took the best care of us, including a surprise dinner in a really romantic setting. It was fascinating and towards the end of our trip, we felt we were part of a family and that we had known each other for ages. In the front desk, Sannadhi, Ayub, Warsan (hope I got the name right), and Pooja. And so was Uday who took us around the plantation in the golf buggy. Finally, there was Pramod from the front office, who was there for everything. Pramod and Wilfred also kept checking whether our journey back was fine. Thanks a ton, guys. You are great ambassadors not only for your resort and your brand, but also for the hospitality industry in general in India. Wish you the very best. And needless to say, we will be back!

  • Pool Villa to Presidency Villa

    by amettraveller on August 24, 2017

    I had booked Pool Villa for my wife's birthday through makemytrip, As we arrived for our check-in we found out there was some confusion between mmt and serai main office and we had no Pool Villa to stay. So we were given an upgrade to Presidency Villa 'The Residence'. The residence as the name suggests is a big Villa with a living , dining , 2 bedrooms private pool and Jacuzzi. Its a five star resort on paper and it proves its rating in terms of features and facilties in the room. The support staff makes sure you are taken care in every aspect. I cannot wait to get back to the place.

  • All Villas are more or less same with majority having private pool but for swimmers it is better to go to the main pool

    by sandeep306 on September 6, 2017

  • The pool villas are worth it. If you have are a big family, choose the Residency

    by Akrur_Barua on August 24, 2017

  • Picturesque, Inspired Resort, Coffee, Plantation, Cooler, Amenities

    by Nameesh R on July 6, 2017

  • Choose villas closer to the swimming pool, if possible. Else may involve a bit of walking to their restaurant.

    by Anand G on June 1, 2017

  • Villas a great with a private pool

    by mmonicakhanna on May 11, 2017