• Support
X

Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

  •  
  •  
  •  
1 Person in 1 Room
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age(s) of Children
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age of Children
Click to Check
Availability
Rating4.5, based on 1749 Review(s) Price: Rs. 7,500

Goa

Fri, 26 Jan – Sat, 27 Jan (1 Night)  |  1 Room  |  1 Guest

Reviews

  • View Yatra Reviews
  • View Hotel Reviews
  • View Room Reviews

Overall Rating

4.4 / 5

(based on 7 review(s))

Verified

Rating Summary

  • Comfort6
  • Cleanliness3
  • Facilities Available6
  • Staff Service3
  • Room3
  • Value for money6
  • Location3
  • 4.5
  • 4.7
  • 4.3
  • 4.0
  • 4.7
  • 4.5
  • 4.3
  • 3.7

    Very Good!

    by Vinod on Jun 30,2017

    What's Good: Location, beach access, food, swimming pool

    What needs to improve : Room Service is quite slow


  • Overall Rating

    4.5 Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

    (based on 1749 reviews)

  • Traveller Rating

    • Terrible 19
    • Poor 43
    • Average 175
    • Very Good 607
    • Excellent 905
  • Rating Summary

    • Location 4.5
    • Sleep Quality 4.0
    • Rooms 4.0
    • Service 4.5
    • Value 4.0
    • Cleanliness 4.5

  • Fabulous first holiday to Goa

    by NothernGirl on January 18, 2018

    We went for 2 weeks over New Year and really enjoyed it. New Years Eve Gala for us was well organised and great fun, I think we were some of the last to leave at 3am! The hotel provides a luxury European quality but with a nice Indian feel to it. There are limited English options for meals but the idea of going to India is surely to enjoy the local culture and food. The hotel may have made changes but better this than staying in a time warp. We went to the beach every day, we ate at all of the shacks but tended to walk for 10 minutes up the coast where we could lie on the sand without anyone near by.....a little bit of paradise. The sea is safe and warm to swim in. You can walk for miles up the coast or rent a bike for the day from the Radisson Blu next door. Karen the rep will advise where to change money and buy anything you need. We went on the waterfall trip and really enjoyed the Elephant experience. We also went to Candolim in a taxi and stayed one night in a hotel and another on a house boat trip. We did the beach BBQ in Mikes place which was lovely. It is great value for money eating and drinking out so no need to stay in the confines of the hotel. That said all inclusive drinks at the hotel bar are good and the bit of entertainment provided makes a nice relaxing evening. The rooms are lovely and we were lucky enough to have a large double bed (many people we met had single beds). overall I would really recommend this hotel

  • Very nice resort

    by Josephine B on January 18, 2018

    We organized a conference at the Dona Sylvia resort in Cavelossim, Goa. Cavelossim is located in the southern part of Goa and has therefore less crowded beaches. The Dona Sylvia resort is beautiful, the staff helpful and friendly. The pool area is nice with a small pool section for children. The resort is build like a small village with many small houses of different sizes and colours. It is very charming. There is a direct access to the beach from the resort. We enjoyed the beach a lot. There are even life guards. In the evening we mainly frequented the small beach shacks at the beach which serve fresh grilled fish and other traditional Indian food. It was a perfect location for our conference.

  • Over enthusiastic life guard

    by James N on January 17, 2018

    Beware the life guards at this beach who think or assume anyone remotely looking Indian has to be told off for using the beach Its all very well warning about sea conditions and another matter entirely when the message is particularly directed at Indians and not The Western tourists. I fear there is discrimination as the life doesnt say a word to the Western guests . I am holidaying from UK and Indian and never lived in India because I was born in Malaysia . The hotels have to address this rudery combined with an arrogance bordering on flouting human rights laws . Beware all hotels this can result in serious consequences .

  • Could be so much better

    by Ian S on January 17, 2018

    This was our first visit to Goa (we subsequently talked to a lot to returning guests to both the resort and hotel) and the Dona Sylvia. Initially we were very pleased when arriving in the reception area but that wavered when we had to wait well over an hour for our room to become available, and that was after chasing for the room ourselves. When you have flown overnight and the hotel know you are coming, I believe your room should be ready and waiting. As it was New Years Eve, we headed to the bar for a pre gala dinner drink - Closed. We asked where we could get a drink from and were told to go the lawn where the dinner was taking place - Closed until 7.30 pm. So there we were, and all other guests with the same idea, with nowhere to get a drink, and this is an expensive AI resort. As it had gone 7 none of us felt inclined to wander off into the town looking for a bar. After the gala dinner started I must say that the hotel staff made up for it and looked after everybody really well. But please next year hotel management, if you are planning on doing the same, let the guests know so they won't be surprised and disappointed. Overall the food was reasonably good with a variety of Indian and western food on offer (Masala omelettes are particularly good). However, the wine was very poor quality and was often served luke warm making it even more unappetising. The hotel likes to take the buffet outside at least once a week, which is a good idea. The room was functional but was in need of a refurb, which we gather Novotel are going to do. It was interesting that the cleaning didn't quite manage to get everything right every day with either hand towels, bath towels, toilet rolls or shower gels missing after the servicing. But the room guys a very badly paid, and would always bring whatever you need when you ask, so not an issue. An issue is the cost of the holiday. We paid top dollar and don't believe we received value for money. Whether this is Tui or the Hotels fault, I don't know. I will say though, the hotel suddenly started wanting to charge for a Cappuccino at breakfast. Really, and this is a n IA resort. We didn't pay and complained to Karen the rep, although they still wanted to charge. The most helpful member of staff was a young lady named Hazel. Hazel took all of our complaints on board to tell management, but in true Indian style, nothing changed. Would we come back? Given the very cheap cost of living in Goa we wouldn't come back to stay in an All Inclusive resort who seem to be charging way too much for not much. As I say, could have been better.

  • Excellent family stay

    by satyapa on January 16, 2018

    Visited the hotel with family and stayed for 5 days. Beach is just next to the hotel. The swimming pool is large and properly maintained. Kids enjoyed a lot thanks to the play area. Breakfast spread is nice and elaborate. They even allowed a late checkout which was nice. Overall an excellent stay. Highly recommended for families.

  • You will get given what you are given

    by Ian S on January 16, 2018

  • The location of the rooms are all good as they are laid out in U shaped clusters with beautiful trees and flowers all around.

    by Marguerite C on January 4, 2018

  • Book the upper apartment with a terrace.

    by Edward W on December 28, 2017

  • Top floor room

    by ANN-BRIAN103 on December 18, 2017

  • Upstairs in villas have more private terrace

    by edinburghandglasgow on December 12, 2017