• Support

Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

  •  
  •  
  •  
1 Person in 1 Room
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age(s) of Children
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age of Children
Click to Check
Availability
Rating4.5, based on 1670 Review(s) Price: Rs. 6,000

Goa

Sun, 24 Sep – Mon, 25 Sep (1 Night)  |  1 Room  |  1 Guest

Reviews

  • View Yatra Reviews
  • View Hotel Reviews
  • View Room Reviews

Overall Rating

4.3 / 5

(based on 6 review(s))

Verified

Rating Summary

  • Comfort5
  • Cleanliness2
  • Facilities Available5
  • Staff Service2
  • Room2
  • Value for money5
  • Location2
  • 4.4
  • 4.5
  • 4.2
  • 3.5
  • 4.5
  • 4.4
  • 4.0
  • 3.7

    Very Good!

    by Vinod on Jun 30,2017

    What's Good: Location, beach access, food, swimming pool

    What needs to improve : Room Service is quite slow


  • Overall Rating

    4.5 Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

    (based on 1670 reviews)

  • Traveller Rating

    • Terrible 18
    • Poor 42
    • Average 165
    • Very Good 582
    • Excellent 863
  • Rating Summary

    • Location 4.5
    • Sleep Quality 4.0
    • Rooms 4.0
    • Service 4.5
    • Value 4.0
    • Cleanliness 4.5

  • Most amazing stay and felt at home with their hospitality and never wanted to come back!

    by Nupur S on September 16, 2017

    The rooms are like huts with all the modern amenities. The staff here are very friendly and courteous. Their property is vastly spread with lots of greenery and coconut trees. The properly is very well maintained and cleaned. It's treat to the eyes if you're coming from a concrete jungle. They have a private beach and you can visit it whenever you want to. The food here is very tasty and also economical if you choose carefully compared to other resorts in Goa. 4 days I stayed I forgot all my worries and problems in life. I did not go anywhere outside the resort except river cruise. Once you are inside the resort you don't feel like leaving it. It's not even a day that I miss Goa only because of my wonderful stay In Dona Sylvia and the super sweet staff. I was actually very sad when I realised that I have to go back to my routine life! I recommend this resort highly to everyone who wants to have some quality time with their family.

  • Feast for concrete sore eyes, treat for tummy and private beach at your disposal

    by Amit T on September 14, 2017

    Dona Sylvia is a splendid experience which sounds too good to be true from reviews but, its actually too good to describe. Rooms: Each room is a private hut with a little sit down area in front of it with 2 chairs and a table to relax in the morning or evening. Inside, room is spacious and equipped with everything required. Mini fridge too cool things down and an electric cattle to heat up. Apart from bed, 1 sofa chair, 1 normal chair, there is an extra bed that faces full length glass windows. Best place to sit down and sip wine. Food: I don't know why on earth some people are complaining about food. Food taste, quality and variety is unmatchable. Their buffet is huge (I had 4 breakfast, 4 dinner and a lunch there) and it has continental, south indian, north indian, fruits and cakes and even cotton candies for the kids. Yes food items are bit on the higher price range if you compare them to street dhabas but that's not their fault. Beach: Leave your room and take a walk from beautifully landscaped gardens to the beach. There is no distance between resort and beach because there is a long garden with tall coconut trees ( a lot of them). Its a nice walk...my favorite part of the stay. Security: Its a huge property but well secured. There is ALWAYS at least one security guard at the beach side entrance and he asks and notes down your room number every time you leave for the beach or come from the beach. Transportation: Resort always have taxis for every location. Yes, they are pricey because of resort's location. But you knew that resort is in south goa when you booked right? Its a place to relax, not for street shopping. Staff: Extremely courteous, polite and helpful. Check-in took 3 minutes and they served drink and something to munch in that time too. In buffet, there is little army of waiters looking to help you in anyway. They have always a nice lady to help you plan your day's trips. Front desk is quick and observant. Conclusion: I might plan my next goa trip just for stay at this resort. I can not find any one reason to complaint.

  • Wonderful Stay & Super Hospitality

    by RahulJyoti on September 12, 2017

    We chosen Dona Sylvia Beach Resort for our South Goa's Stay. Undoubted, it was great decision to select this property. Beautiful Property and Superb Hospitality. Each member in the resort were very much polite and full of etiquette. Which make our stay more comfortable and memorable. We stayed at room no 128 for 2 nights. It was memorable for us for special welcome and support by Front desk team & Chef (for the short notice order of B'day Cake) I will rate this Resort in terms of (B/w 1 to 5 - 5 is excellent) Hospitality - 5 Room Service - 5 Food Quality- 5 Comfort - 5 Rooms - 5 Property - 5 Location - 4 Near by Mobor Beach. Might be some people not want to travel more toward south most Goa. Strongly recommend to those people who really admire good hospitality & comfort stay. Thanks Team Rahul Jyoti Pandey

  • Top notch resort with well trained staff

    by Sidharth1985 on September 6, 2017

    The only con about Dona Sylvia is that it is very far from the "happening" places. The closest town of Margao is 45 minutes away (costed us INR 1000 to and fro), 60-75 minutes from Airport (1200-1500 INR depending on negotiation skills) and taxis are expensive. But if you are like us and want solitude and no parties, this is the place you want to be. The Hotel has it's own beach, which is about 5 minutes walk from the main areas. We visited during monsoons and the sea was rough, so didn't stay there for long. The pool, restaurant, lobby are all very well done. The morning breakfast is well spread with lots of variety and good quality. There were live counters for South Indian coffee, waffles, dosa and eggs. However, the soul of any hotel is not it's infra,but it's staff. And we were very impressed with the training and service. The moment we entered, the check-in was swiftly done, all while we were still enjoying our welcome drink and cold towels. Gita, the lobby / front desk manager needs special mention for this. The villa style room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was equally good and spacious. One thing I liked were the wardrobes were in the bathroom, unlike other hotels. All in all it's a great property, a must visit place to relax and enjoy your vacation

  • Nice looking resort, with beach access, but you are better off with other hotels in the vicinity

    by Sampath J on September 5, 2017

    We stayed two nights, 2 adults and 2 yr old and infant in their boutique room that included breakfast in the tariff. While the room surroundings and its setting were nice, there were many issues faced and the management did not indicate a willingness to resolve them with any urgency. The property has a good access to a private segment of the excellent cavelossim beach and i saw lifeguards monitoring the beachgoers on all my visit. Here is our detailed review 1. HOUSEKEEPING: POOR: The bathroom had a shower enclosure, and after a shower it leaked water to form a pool outside. Housekeeping was informed, repairman came checked and bluntly said it cannot be fixed. Further, We had to request Housekeeing to come and clean our room multiple times, throw the trash etc. We also saw they did not change sheets even if found stained with some food item by the kid, just rearrange them and move on. Leftover utensils will not get picked up all night, they asked us to keep it outside the room, and was feasted by stray dogs, cats and crows, unhygienic. 2. FOOD: TERRIBLE: Their in-room service menu is exorbitantly pricey, which is OK if the taste is out of the world, however we had a tough time getting them to cook a decent khichdi(rice and lentils) for our 10 month old, from their kids menu. First time we ordered it was extremely salty, the second time uncooked. Each time 230 Rs. shelled for something that even the adults will not eat a spoon with. Complained to their customer service, they supposedly had a word with the chef, nothing changed. Same issue with a roasted hummus sandwich for 345 Rs.we ordered, too much salt and inedible. We ordered a dry bhindi fry and reiterated it 3 times over the phone, but what arrives is a bhindi masala gravy, something my kid will not touch, another 300 Rs. wasted on food that is neither what we ordered or edible.After this we stopped ordering food at Dona Sylvia and drove up to Colva and nearby places to lunch. Their supposedly 5 STAR food was not even 1 STAR 3. KID FRIENDLINESS: POOR. They have a good pool and kids play park and activity centre, however there are many issues. The play park was all wet, all rides either had pools of water (even when it had not rained) on it or sand and looked like they were never cleaned. The information about the activity centre was not readily available, what activities, when etc. apparently they have something every day or alternate day, but its a closely guarded secret that neither the reception or the operator seemed to know. Further the access to the beach had a pool of filthy water that was breeding all kinds of stuff on it, we had to walk around it to get to the beach, and the path around was slippery and not kid-friendly. We had to pick up our kids in our arms everytime we went to the beach. Not 5 STAR at all. 4. OVERALL ATTITUDE: HAUGHTY: We found little assistance provided in general. When we were at the breakfast buffet at their seagull restaurant, my wife with a 10 month old in her arms was not even offered to be helped to her plate or get a cup of coffee/tea to the table. We understand its a buffet, but in contrast we could see the restaurant personnel running around back and forth for other supposedly regulars and businessman that were seated at other tables. In general we sensed a lack of willingness to help out, if they don't feel you are a regular businessman or a loyal foreigner, the restaurant managers stare at you head to toe to size you up and figure out whether you are a golden duck, if not you are on your own pretty much. 5. CONNECTIVITY: POOR: Wifi was pathetic through out our stay. They disclaim due to their layout, wifi will be active only in the lobby and certain public places, but even there it wasn't. To get connected was a big ordeal, the wifi voucher codes never worked, IT had to be summoned and they connected each of our devices to their central server, all this to no avail. Further, I had to print some business documents and sign, scan and email them back to my office while i stayed there. They offer absolutley no office services, access to a printer or a scanner or fax machine. Nope, nothing at all, the front desk as a last resort wanted me to email confidential business documents to their email id, so they can take a print out and give them to me (no thank you!). So little help there. 6. TRANSPORTATION: POOR: The front desk was not willing to share much information on places nearby, could not arrange a self-drive car for us, nor was willing to give us the contact details of car agency. They have mentioned some tour packages on their boards, no one had any information to share nor could they be bothered. Summarize, while we visited off-season, that cannot be an excuse for the terrible experience. For a resort that claims to 5 STAR amenities, there were too many issues to overlook, but what really drove us to the wall was their general attitude, even when we were willing to work with them to resolve issues. As a traveller, there are many better options in the vicinity. Do not mistake their 5 STAR rating to believe you will receive the same treatment like a Taj Exotica or a Leela Palace or a Grand Hyatt. They are at best a pretty face with a hollow soul and in our opinion no better than a 2-3 STAR rated hotel. We sure will not be staying there when we visit South Goa again this december.

  • We had a room with beach view. We just needed to open our doors and could see the beach from far and a view of coconut trees.

    by Nupur S on September 16, 2017

  • best place for stay if you are with little kid(s), parents or just looking for a break from hectic schedule.

    by Amit T on September 14, 2017

  • Beach facing rooms are actually very far from the beach, close to 400 mtrs.

    by ShashankTantri on September 1, 2017

  • Rooms 91-119 or125 - 145 are facing a large scenic garden

    by Karthik M on August 24, 2017

  • Best sea view

    by Falguni- T on July 24, 2017