chennai to kolkata Trains Route Details

Number of Trains from chennai to kolkata 3 Trains
Distance from chennai to kolkata By Train: 1654 Km
Fastest Train from chennai to kolkata : SRC CEN AC SPL(02807)
Slowest Train from chennai to kolkata : HWH TPJ SF SPL(02663)

Chennai Central to Howrah Jn Trains Schedule

  • chennai central santragachi jansadharan (02808) Chennai Central - Howrah Jn Train Route MTWTFSS
  • 08:10
More Less

Chennai Central to Howrah Jn Train Tickets

12 trains transit between Chennai and Kolkata. The trains encompass through the states of Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal and more. The temperature can go to as high as 28°C in Kolkata during the day with an expectation of a clear sky. Kolkata is located on the banks of the river, Hooghly.

Cape Howrah EXP is the slowest among all the trains that run along this route covering a distance of 1691 kms in 29 hours and 45 mins. The train halts at 14 stations along its route. The fastest of all the trains on this route is MAS SRC AC EXP, taking 26 hours and 15 mins to cover 1654 kms. It leaves Chennai Central at 08:10 and arrives Santragachi Jn at 10:25 on the next day.

For utmost convenience, you can opt for any 5 trains (Guwahati EXP, Coromandel EXP, Muzaffarpur EXP, MAS SRC Express and Howrah Mail) that run directly between Chennai Central and Howrah Jn. There is a high likelihood of a train passing through Vijayawada Jn, Rajamundry and Vishakapatnam stations, as these are the most common stations along this route.

If you want to try local specialities while travelling, you may like to travel by Guwahati EXP which halts at Vijayawada Jn (13:05) and at Vijayawada Jn (13:05) where you can avail lunch. Guwahati EXP is the earliest train for this route leaving Chennai Central at 06:30 while the last train is Howrah Mail that leaves Chennai Central at 23:45.

Trip to Kolkata will be incomplete without exploring Eden Garden and Victoria Memorial.

Chennai Central to Howrah Junction Rail Routes

One of the oldest and most important railway routes in India, the Chennai-Howrah line serves as a major link between the cities of Chennai, Tamil Nadu, and Howrah, West Bengal. Sandwiched between the Bay of Bengal and the Eastern Ghats, the Chennai Central (MAS) to Howrah Junction (HWH) line runs through the Eastern Coastal Plains of the country. A train journey from Chennai to Howrah is an incredible experience altogether for the travelers as it offers panoramic views of the sea on the one side and lush-green fields and dense forests on the other. The shortest distance covered by a train between Chennai and Howrah is 1654 km, whereas the longest route stretches up to 1691 km. As far as the travel time is concerned, a Chennai Central (MAS) to Howrah Junction (HWH) train takes anywhere between 27 hours and 31 hours, depending on the route.

Presently, there are 13 different trains operating between Chennai and Howrah. The earliest train running between Chennai Central and Howrah is Bengaluru Cantt. - Guwahati Kaziranga Superfast Express that runs on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays at 6:30 a.m. Similarly, Chennai - Howrah Mail is the last train, which plies every day from Chennai Central at 11:45 p.m.

With reference to the categories of trains operating between Chennai and Howrah, there are AC SuperFast, Superfast and Mail/Express. Thiruvananthapuram Central - Guwahati Superfast Express, Chennai Central - Santragachi AC Superfast Express, Chennai Central - Shalimar Weekly Superfast Express, Kanniyakumari - Howrah Superfast Express and Tiruchirapalli - Howrah Superfast Express are considered to be the most popular Chennai to Howrah trains.

While there are several trains that run from different stations in Chennai to Howrah, six trains exclusively ply between Chennai Central Railway Station (MAS) and Howrah Junction Railway Station (HWH). These trains include Coromandel Express, Chennai - Howrah Mail, Bengaluru Cantt - Guwahati Kaziranga Express and Yesvantpur - Muzaffarpur Express along with two Thiruvananthapuram Central - Guwahati Superfast Express. All of these trains travel via Vijayawada Junction (BZA) and Visakhapatnam Junction (VSKP) in Andhra Pradesh, Bhubaneswar (BBS) and Cuttack (CTC) in Odisha, and Kharagpur Junction (KGP) in West Bengal.

When it comes to booking Chennai Central to Howrah Junction train tickets, one can head to any of the railway reservation offices. Besides that, the facility of booking E-tickets and I-tickets is also offered by Indian Railways. While booking the MAS to HWH train tickets online, one can also opt for catering services provided by Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC).

Train Schedule: Weekly

• Chennai Central - Santragachi Superfast Ac Express (Chennai Central - Santragachi Junction) - Tue, Sun
• Thiruvananthapuram Central - Shalimar Superfast Express (Chennai Central – Shalimar) - Fri, Sun
• Bengaluru Cantt. - Guwahati (kaziranga) Express (Chennai Central - Howrah Junction) - Thu, Fri, Sat
• Thiruvananthapuram Central - Guwahati Superfast Express (Chennai Central - Howrah Junction) - Mon Only
• Thiruvananthapuram - Guwahati Superfast Express (Chennai Central - Howrah Junction) - Wed Only
• Yesvantpur - Muzaffarpur Weekly Express (Chennai Central - Howrah Junction) - Thu Only
• Chennai Central - Santragachi Specialfare Special (Chennai Central - Santragachi Junction) - Wed Only
• Chennai Central - Shalimar Weekly Superfast Express (Chennai Central – Shalimar) - Thu Only
• Tiruchirapalli - Howrah Superfast Express (Tambaram - Howrah Junction) - Tue, Fri
• Kanniyakumari - Howrah Superfast Express (Tambaram - Howrah Junction) - Sat Only
• Puducherry - Santragachi Special Fare Special (Tambaram - Santragachi Junction) - Sat Only

Train Schedule: Daily

• Coromandel Express (Chennai Central - Howrah Junction)
• Chennai - Howrah Mail (Chennai Central - Howrah Junction)

All Stations in Chennai

• Chennai Central Railway Station (MAS)
• Tambaram Railway Station (TBM)

All Stations in Howrah

• Howrah Junction Railway Station (HWH)
• Shalimar Junction Railway Station (SHM)
• Santragachi Junction Railway Station (SRC)

Useful Links: Indian Railways PNR Status | IRCTC Railway Reservation | Indian Railway Enquiry | Indian Railway Train Routes | Indian Railway Train Station