kolkata rajdhani Train Schedule (12301)

More Less
12301 kolkata rajdhani

12301 Train Route Map

Kolkata Rajdhani 12301 Train

One of the most prestigious Rajdhani trains in India, Kolkata Rajdhani 12301 connects New Delhi to Howrah, Kolkata. It began operations on March 3, 1969. Kolkata Rajdhani 12301 train was the first Rajdhani Express and the first fully air-conditioned train in the country. The train is one of the fastest in India with an average speed of 88 kmph (55 mph). It is affectionally called ‘The King’ by rail enthusiasts. Kolkata Rajdhani Express reduced the travel time from West Bengal to Delhi by rail from an earlier 24 hours to 17 hours. It is country's first Wi-Fi enabled Rajdhani train.

Why Kolkata Rajdhani 12301?

With an average speed of 88 kmph, Kolkata Rajdhani 12301 connects two big metropolises of India. It gets the highest priority on Howrah-Delhi Grand Chord Line.

The Perks Of Riding The Kolkata Rajdhani Train

• This train has the highest priority on Indian railway network overall.
• Pantry car, on-board catering, and e-catering are available for the passengers.
• All compartments are fully air-conditioned.
• Passengers are provided with complimentary meals, including lunch, high tea, dinner, morning tea, or breakfast, depending on the timing of the train.
• First class A/C coach has 2 or 4 berth lockable bedrooms, 2 Tier second class A/C coach has open system berths (bays of 4 berths and 2 berths on the side), and 3-tier second class A/C coach has bays of 6 berths and 2 berths on the side.
• There are curtains for privacy and reading lamps for readers.

Train Coach & Schedule

Kolkata Rajdhani Express boasts of 21 coaches in total. The coaches include 5 A/C 2-tiers, 2 first class A/C, up to 10 A/C 3-tiers (both of which may be increased according to demand), and 2 A/C hot buffet cars (pantry cars). There are 2 luggage/parcel cum generator -cum- brake vans, which are provided with the guards' cabin. This train runs on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. Kolkata Rajdhani Express passes through 8 stations with 6 halts. It departs from Howrah Junction at 16:55 and arrives at New Delhi at 10:00 on the second day.

Average Speed & The Time Traveled

Kolkata Rajdhani 12301 covers a total distance of 1458 km in 17 hours and 5 minutes and reaches its destination on day 2. It usually runs on time and reaches New Delhi with an average delay of only 26 minutes. Kolkata Rajdhani Express has an average speed of 88 km/hr.

About The Destination

Once you reach Delhi, you can take a stroll through the lanes of this capital city. The city offers innumerable monuments, street foods, shopping malls, street shopping options, and religious places. Pay a visit to Lotus Temple, Akshardham Temple, ISKCON Temple, and Jama Masjid. When here, do not forget to witness the magnificence of Red Fort, Qutub Minar, Tughlaqabad Fort, Old Fort, and Humayun's Tomb.