South Central Railway

South Central Railway (SCR) was founded in October 1966 as the ninth railway zone of India. The Hubli and Vijayawada divisions of Southern Railway, and the Solapur and Secunderabad divisions of Central Railway were joined together to form SCR. It serves the states of Seemandhra, Telangana, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu and Madhya Pradesh, putting it among the zones with among the widest networks in India. Since its formation, South Central Railway has laid railway lines over a route length of 342.805 km. It has also converted 2676.19 km of route length from metre gauge to broad gauge. SCR now has approximately 5752 km of route track length, and out of it, 1604 km has electrification.

In the Financial Year 2003-04, South Central Railway hauled almost 44.79 tons of freight, carried 195.65 million people and generated INR 3683 crore as revenue.


As of 2015, SCR consists of six divisions: Secunderabad, Vijayawada, Hyderabad, Nanded, Guntakal and Guntur.


The Secunderabad Division is headquartered at Secunderabad Junction, which is also the headquarters of SCR as whole. This division began operations in 1966, and is now spread across the states of Telangana, Seemandhra and Maharashtra. It has 1311.06 km of track length; with electrification on 825.33 km. SCR heavily depends on it as the division handles 64 percent of freight and 35 per cent of the passenger movement of its parent railway zone.


This division was initially formed under Southern Railway in 1955, and in 1966, it was given to South Central Railway. Vijayawada Junction, the headquarters of the division, handles over 250 passenger and 150 goods trains. The division has a total track length of roughly 958.926 km, of which 175 km has been electrified.


The major station and the headquarters of Hyderabad Division is Kacheguda Railway Station, located in the city of Hyderabad. This division connects the Hyderabad city to Delhi, Chennai, Bhopal, Indore, Bangalore, and other important cities and towns.


Nanded Division has its headquarters in Nanded Railway Station, located in East Maharashtra. The division provides daily connectivity to Mumbai, Pune Nagpur, Hyderabad, Delhi, Agra, Gwalior, Jhansi, Amritsar, Bhopal, Bangalore, Ludhiana, Ambala, Jalandhar and Faridabad. Trains from Nanded are also available for Kolkata, Ahmedabad, Patna, Chennai, Jabalpur, Madurai, Ajmer, Rameshwaram, Surat, Allahabad and Varanasi.


The Guntakal Division was formed in 1956 under Southern Railway, and was transferred to South Central Railway in 1977. It comprises 1872.47 km of track over a route length of 1307.07 km. Several important pilgrimage sites like Tirupati Temple are accessible via this division. The division is also important for industries as it connects many iron mines, limestone quarries, and spots rich in precious stones. Guntakal Railway Station, where the division has its head office, serves the Bellary district, which has one of the largest and richest iron mines in the country.


After being created in 1997, Guntur Division formally became operational in 2003. It was formed when the least economically efficient sections of Guntakal, Secunderabad and Vijayawada divisions are merged into one. The division has a total route length of 629.25 km, of which only 56 km is currently electrified. Between 2013 and 2014, the division provided service to roughly 26.8 million passengers, and carried approximately 2.8 million tons of freight, generating close to INR 4523 million in income. It is quite a busy division as over 90 passenger trains travel through it every day.


South Central Railway has a route length of 5725 km, and it serves the states of Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana and Andhra Pradesh. Some of the important cities and towns it serves are Hyderabad, Aurangabad, Bellary and Visakhapatnam. Within its network, SCR provides connectivity to mining towns, ports and tourist places.

  • Connect
  • Stay in touch with Yatra wherever you are