Western Railways

Formed in the year 1951, Western Railways was result of the merger between the state railways of Jaipur, Saurashtra and Rajputana along with Baroda, Bombay and Central India Railways. The headquarters of Western Railways is at the Churchgate Station in Mumbai. It serves the states of Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Maharashtra, covering a distance of approximately 6400 kilometres, including that of broad gauge, metre gauge and narrow gauge. This zone of Indian Railways handles 939 Express/Mail/Passenger and 1305 suburban trains (in Mumbai). Three Rajdhani trains from Mumbai and one from Ahmedabad besides a Shatabdi train are operated by the Western Railways, as well. The Mumbai Suburban network, which is a part of the Western Railways, extends from Churchgate till Dahanu Road via Virar covering 38 stations. This zone has the distinction of initiating the first ever ladies special train service, between Churchgate and Virar. It is also a pioneer in executing the Train Management System (TMS) on its suburban section in Mumbai. The TMS provides real time information of the running status of a train to commuters, by displaying the expected time of the train arrival at stations with automatic announcements. This zone has opened a heritage gallery at its headquarters in Mumbai. The gallery has on display many items like a steam engine model, model of 1928 EMUs, signalling equipment and working model of Auxiliary Warning System.


Western Railways has been divided into 6 divisions, namely Ahmedabad, Vadodara, Mumbai, Ratlam, Rajkot and Bhavnagar.


An important centre of the Western Railways, the Ahmedabad Junction Railway Station is the busiest and biggest railway stations in the state of Gujarat. There are 12 platforms in the station that receive trains from other parts of the state as well as different Indian cities like Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai and Hyderabad. Besides Wi-Fi facility, this station has golf car service for physically challenged and senior citizens.


A major stop of Western Railways, Vadodara Railway Station serves three routes, namely Mumbai and Ahmedabad; Chhota Udepur and Vadodara; and Delhi via Mathura, Kota and Ratlam. This station was constructed in 1861 and later modified in 1954 by Indian Railways. It also has one of the biggest locomotive sheds of this zone, housing more than 130 locomotives.


Home to Western Railways, the Churchgate Railway Station in Mumbai is also the hub of the Mumbai Suburban Railway. The station is named after the Church Gate Street, which lies next to the station. The Mumbai division is spread over 637 kilometres, covering 116 stations.


This division was formed in 1956 under the divisionalisation arrangement of Indian Railways. It caters to 2, 3 and 15 districts of Gujarat, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, respectively. The division covers 166 kilometres in meter gauge and 901 km in broad gauge.


The history of this division dates back to the year of 1879 when the Saurashtra region was connected to Baroda, Bombay and Central India Railways. It serves the districts of Dwarka, Jamnagar, Rajkot, Surendranagar and Morbi. The division covers approximately 596 kilometres in broad gauge and extends from Viramgam to Okha and Wankaner to Maliya Miyana.


This division of Western Railways was established in 1956, but its history can be traced back to the year 1880 when railway line was launched between Bhavnagar Terminus to Wadhwan. It serves the Porbandar, Junagadh, Rajkot, Ahmedabad, Surendranagar, Jamnagar, Bhavnagar and Amreli districts of the state of Gujarat. The division covers approximately 1327 kilometres, including 661 kilometres in broad gauge and 666 kilometres in metre gauge.

Sub Zones:

The Western Railways zone has only one sub zone.

West Central Railway

The West Central Railway sub-division of Western Railways has its headquarters at Jabalpur, in Madhya Pradesh. It has been divided into 3 divisions, namely Bhopal, Jabalpur and Kota.


Western Railways covers an approximate distance of 6181 kilometres and serves part of Rajasthan, some areas of Madhya Pradesh and the entire Gujarat state.

  • Connect
  • Stay in touch with Yatra wherever you are